You are now leaving This link will take you to
a website to which our privacy policy does not apply. You are solely
responsible for your interactions with that website.

Pharmaceutical Advisory Committee

Our Pharmaceutical Advisory Committee shares our passion for pharmacology and the pursuit of making breakthrough medicines; they are thought-leaders in the world of drug discovery and pharmacology, and their deep scientific and medical expertise helps shape our discovery and early development efforts.

The Scripps Research Institute

Benjamin Cravatt, Ph.D., is professor and chairman of the Department of Chemical Physiology and member of the Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at The Scripps Research Institute. Dr. Cravatt is a nationally recognized leader in the fields of enzymology and chemical biology. His research group has a broad range of experimental expertise, including synthetic chemistry, chemoproteomics/metabolomics and mammalian pharmacology. His group has provided fundamental insights into the chemical, biochemical and physiological workings of several important mammalian enzymes, including lipid hydrolases involved in the neurobiology of pain and proteases associated with tumor progression. Dr. Cravatt received his B.S. in Biological Sciences and B.A. in History from Stanford University. He received his Ph.D. from The Scripps Research Institute.

Medical University of South Carolina

Perry V. Halushka, Ph.D., M.D. is dean of the College of Graduate Studies and a professor of pharmacology and medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina. A world-renowned clinical pharmacologist, Dr. Halushka is recognized for his research contributions regarding the role of prostaglandins and thromboxanes in platelet functions and cardiovascular disease. He is a practicing physician and a member of numerous professional associations and editorial boards. Dr. Halushka is the recipient of PhRMA’s Clinical Pharmacology Award in Excellence, the Burroughs Wellcome Scholar in Clinical Pharmacology Award, and the William N. Creasy Award and Visiting Professor in Clinical Pharmacology. He is the author of more than 200 publications in peer-reviewed journals and more than 50 invited reviews and book chapters.

Medical University of South Carolina

Lawrence S. Olanoff, M.D., Ph.D. joined our board of directors in April 2015. Dr. Olanoff most recently served as chief operating officer for Forest Laboratories, Inc. (acquired by Allergan plc) from October 2006 to December 2010. Dr. Olanoff also served as a director of Forest from October 2006 to July 2014. From July 2005 to October 2006, Dr. Olanoff was president and chief executive officer at Celsion Corporation. He also served as executive vice president and chief scientific officer of Forest from 1995 to 2005. Prior to joining Forest in 1995, Dr. Olanoff served as senior vice president of clinical research and development at Sandoz Pharmaceutical Corporation (now a division of the Novartis Group) and at the Upjohn Company in a number of positions including corporate vice president of clinical development and medical affairs. In addition, he is currently an adjunct assistant professor and special advisor to the president for corporate relations at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), an ex-officio director of the MUSC Foundation for Research Development, chairman of the board of the Clinical Biotechnology Research Institute at Roper St. Francis Hospital and a board member of Axovant Sciences Ltd., the Horizon Project and the Zucker Institute for Applied Neurosciences. Dr. Olanoff received his Ph.D. in biomedical engineering and M.D. degree from Case Western Reserve University.

Stanford University

Christopher T. Walsh, Ph.D has served as a director since 2003. Since October 2013, Dr. Walsh has been a consulting professor in Chemistry at Stanford University. Dr. Walsh was the Hamilton Kuhn Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School from 1991 to July 2013 and formerly was president of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and chairman of the Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School. He has performed extensive research in enzyme stereochemistry, reaction mechanisms and the mechanisms of action of anti-infective and immunosuppressive agents. Dr. Walsh serves on the Scientific Advisory Board for Abide Therapeutics Inc., Hua Medicine Ltd., Leap Therapeutics, Inc., Cidara Therapeutics, Inc. and the Bioventures Group of Health Care Ventures LLC. Dr. Walsh is also a board member of Achaogen, Inc. and Proteostasis Therapeutics, Inc. He is also on the board of directors of the nonprofit California Institute for Biomedical Research. Dr. Walsh received an A.B. in biology from Harvard University and a Ph.D. in life sciences from The Rockefeller University, New York.